Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

Sunny Side Up by Jennifer and Matthew Holm. This semi-autobiographical graphic novel is set in 1976 and features Sunny, a younger sister to a troubled older brother who is sent to Florida to spend the summer with her grandpa in his retirement home. What seems to be an eternally dull summer has a few bright spots, including a new friend and a new interest in comic books and superheroes, interspersed with flashbacks that tell the story of Sunny's older bother. For fans of SMILE & EL DEAFO

I could have just missed these in the list, but I also love "Nimona" (Noelle Stevenson) because it is hilarious but also has a real emotional journey.

Secrets of Selkie Bay (Hardcover)

In their present-day tourist trap of an Irish seaside town, famed for its supposed involvement with selkies in the past, three sisters are faced with the sudden disappearance of their mother. Crushed

Just after twelve-year-old Emily and her family move to San Francisco, she teams up with new friend James to follow clues in an odd book they find, hoping to figure out its secrets before the men who attacked Emily's hero, publisher Garrison Griswold, solve the mystery or come after the friends.

Stacey, a member of the Baby-sitters Club, learns to cope with her diabetes and her overprotective parents. A graphic novel based on the 1988 book by the same name.