Sunny Side Up by Jennifer and Matthew Holm. This semi-autobiographical graphic novel is set in 1976 and features Sunny, a younger sister to a troubled older brother who is sent to Florida to spend the summer with her grandpa in his retirement home. What seems to be an eternally dull summer has a few bright spots, including a new friend and a new interest in comic books and superheroes, interspersed with flashbacks that tell the story of Sunny's older bother. For fans of SMILE & EL DEAFO

Sunny Side Up by Jennifer and Matthew Holm. This semi-autobiographical graphic novel is set in 1976 and features Sunny, a younger sister to a troubled older brother who is sent to Florida to spend the summer with her grandpa in his retirement home. What seems to be an eternally dull summer has a few bright spots, including a new friend and a new interest in comic books and superheroes, interspersed with flashbacks that tell the story of Sunny's older bother. For fans of SMILE & EL DEAFO

A poignant graphic tale based on the creator's own experiences with hearing loss follows the adventures of young Cece, who develops "superpowers" to manage the challenges of making friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid that sometimes lets her hear things she shouldn't.  Newbery Honor Book.  Ages 8-12.

A poignant graphic tale based on the creator's own experiences with hearing loss follows the adventures of young Cece, who develops "superpowers" to manage the challenges of making friends while wearing a bulky hearing aid that sometimes lets her hear things she shouldn't. Newbery Honor Book. Ages 8-12.

"Ghosts." (courtesy of Scholastic)

7 graphic novels and memoirs you should read this summer

The Baby-Sitters Club: The Truth About Stacey by Raina Telgemeier, http://www.amazon.com/dp/0439739365/ref=cm_sw_r_pi_dp_MRUKrb1AB5FCS

The Baby-Sitters Club: The Truth About Stacey by Raina Telgemeier, http://www.amazon.com/dp/0439739365/ref=cm_sw_r_pi_dp_MRUKrb1AB5FCS

El Deafo | Cece Bell (GN BEL)

'El Deafo': How A Girl Turned Her Disability Into A Superpower

eXpertComics offers a wide choice of Archie Comics products, like the Josie and…

eXpertComics offers a wide choice of Archie Comics products, like the Josie and…

Pinterest
Search