Mt. Davidson was originally named Blue Mountain for the lupine, Douglas iris, and California lilac that painted its hillsides in the spring. In 1911, at the urging of the Sierra Club, the mountain was renamed after George Davidson, the geographer who surveyed it. The fight to save this peak from urban development was won when Maddie Brown, president of the Commodore Sloat ES PTA, arranged for students to flood a city Board of Supervisors hearing with wildflowers gathered from the hill.
Cayuga Playground - Perhaps best known for its sculpture gardens, unique trails, and bustling basketball court, the park also offers visitors a clubhouse, children’s playground, tennis court, ball diamond, and multipurpose, turf area.