A guide for cheese-loving vegetarians. Find out which sources of rennet are suitable for vegetarians and view a list of vegetarian cheeses.

A guide for cheese-loving vegetarians. Find out which sources of rennet are suitable for vegetarians and view a list of vegetarian cheeses.

Bull Thistle - How to make thistle rennet for cheesemaking

How To Make Thistle Rennet For Cheesemaking

[CHEESE/GOATS] ---- Homemade Vegetable Rennet     (*Vegetable rennet is a natural enzyme that coagulates milk and separates the curds and whey when you are making cheese.)

Homemade Vegetable Rennet

[CHEESE/GOATS] ---- Homemade Vegetable Rennet (*Vegetable rennet is a natural enzyme that coagulates milk and separates the curds and whey when you are making cheese.)

Homemade Icelandic Skyr.  I have such fond memories of having this for breakfast when I visited Iceland as an undergrad...  We stayed with families for 4 or 5 days and had this every morning.  Excited to find a blog post on how to try it at home.

Homemade Icelandic Skyr. I have such fond memories of having this for breakfast when I visited Iceland as an undergrad... We stayed with families for 4 or 5 days and had this every morning. Excited to find a blog post on how to try it at home.

Wensleydale with Chocolate & Orange - It is a very classic combination: chocolate and orange and this time combined with the lush creamy texture of a Wensleydale cheese. Milk chocolate with candied orange peel offered to you in this innovative combination; the tropical flavors you will recognize from many forms of confections.  #Vegetarian rennet #FoodieFaves

Wensleydale with Chocolate & Orange - It is a very classic combination: chocolate and orange and this time combined with the lush creamy texture of a Wensleydale cheese. Milk chocolate with candied orange peel offered to you in this innovative combination; the tropical flavors you will recognize from many forms of confections. #Vegetarian rennet #FoodieFaves

Caramelised Red Onion & Goats Cheese Tarts (Be sure your cheeses are rennet free or contain vegetarian rennet

Caramelised Red Onion & Goats Cheese Tarts

Caramelised Red Onion & Goats Cheese Tarts (Be sure your cheeses are rennet free or contain vegetarian rennet

Rennet Tablets for cheese making --good source

Vegetarian Rennet Tablets for Cheesemaking

Barely Buzzed, an artisanal cheese hand-crafted by the Beehive Cheese Company. It is a full bodied gourmet cheese with a nutty flavor and smooth texture. The cheese is hand rubbed with a Turkish grind of espresso coffee and French lavender buds are ground with the coffee and the mixture is diluted with oil to suspend the dry ingredients in the rub. The rub imparts notes of butterscotch and caramel. #Vegetarian rennet #FoodieFaves

Barely Buzzed, an artisanal cheese hand-crafted by the Beehive Cheese Company. It is a full bodied gourmet cheese with a nutty flavor and smooth texture. The cheese is hand rubbed with a Turkish grind of espresso coffee and French lavender buds are ground with the coffee and the mixture is diluted with oil to suspend the dry ingredients in the rub. The rub imparts notes of butterscotch and caramel. #Vegetarian rennet #FoodieFaves

Make Goat Cheese with Two Ingredients: Milk and Lemon: Goat Cheese Made with Lemon Juice

Make Goat Cheese with Two Ingredients: Milk and Lemon: Goat Cheese Made with Lemon Juice

Rennet for cheese making  The good news is that there is a vegetable alternative.  Rennet can be made from Lady Bedstraw, Stinging Nettle, and Thistle flower.  Thistle cardoon is considered the best choice.  Harvest the drying thistle heads before they produce white fluff.  Do not use heads with fluff, they will not make rennet.

Rennet for cheese making The good news is that there is a vegetable alternative. Rennet can be made from Lady Bedstraw, Stinging Nettle, and Thistle flower. Thistle cardoon is considered the best choice. Harvest the drying thistle heads before they produce white fluff. Do not use heads with fluff, they will not make rennet.

Exmoor Blue - The cheese reveals a natural creamy-yellow coloring indicating the presence of rich Jersey milk and has a natural rind. It is buttery taste is cloaked in the tangy notes of blue cheese. The cheese is sold after a ripening period of 4-6 weeks old, however, for further consumption, refrigeration at 4°C is essential. The company uses only vegetarian rennet to make their cheeses, so all Exmoor Blue company cheeses are suitable for vegetarians.

Exmoor Blue - The cheese reveals a natural creamy-yellow coloring indicating the presence of rich Jersey milk and has a natural rind. It is buttery taste is cloaked in the tangy notes of blue cheese. The cheese is sold after a ripening period of 4-6 weeks old, however, for further consumption, refrigeration at 4°C is essential. The company uses only vegetarian rennet to make their cheeses, so all Exmoor Blue company cheeses are suitable for vegetarians.

purple thistle used to curdle milk and make cheese (ADVANCED corn free)

purple thistle used to curdle milk and make cheese (ADVANCED corn free)

Make your own mozzarella. In less than an hour! Rennet and citric acid are the only unusual things in it, I have the rest.

Make your own mozzarella. In less than an hour! Rennet and citric acid are the only unusual things in it, I have the rest.

Truffle Tremor is a combination of the classic flavor of truffle and the velvety perfection of ripened goat milk cheese.Food Pairings    Place a small slab of Truffle Tremor on top of a steak 1–2 minutes before it is done. The cheese will become partially melted and spreadable.  Serve a slice of Truffle Tremor drizzled with honey and a glass of Monbazillac or Sauternes for a unique and delicious dessert.

Truffle Tremor is a combination of the classic flavor of truffle and the velvety perfection of ripened goat milk cheese.Food Pairings Place a small slab of Truffle Tremor on top of a steak 1–2 minutes before it is done. The cheese will become partially melted and spreadable. Serve a slice of Truffle Tremor drizzled with honey and a glass of Monbazillac or Sauternes for a unique and delicious dessert.

Tilsit is made from partially skimmed pasteurized cow's milk and is semi-firm with a springy texture, dotted with irregularly spaced tiny holes. Made with vegetarian Rennet

Tilsit is made from partially skimmed pasteurized cow's milk and is semi-firm with a springy texture, dotted with irregularly spaced tiny holes. Made with vegetarian Rennet

Pinterest
Search