Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

New Vizcaya (New Biscay) was the first province of northern New Spain to be explored and settled by the Spanish.

On this day in History, Treaty of Paris ends Spanish-American War on Dec 10, 1898. Learn more about what happened today on History.

US Army enters through Guánica in 1898 to take possesion of the Archipelago of Puerto Rico according to the terms of the Treaty of Paris that ended the Spanish-American War.


As a result of the Spanish American War of 1898, as per The Treaty of Paris, Spain ceded Puerto Rico, the Phillipine Islands and Guam to the U.S.A. On March 2, 1917, The Jones - Shafroth Act was signed granting collective U.S. citizenship to Puerto Ricans without rescinding their Puerto Rican citizenship. Puerto Ricans do not need Passports to travel between Puerto Rico and the U.S.A.


June 12, 1898 was the proclamation of the sovereignty and independence of the Philippines from #Spain's colonial rule. Spain was defeated at the mock Battle of Manila Bay during the Spanish-American War. Spain later ceded the Philippines to US in 1898 Treaty of Paris that ended the Spanish-American War. The US recognized Philippine independence on July 4, 1946 in the Treaty of Manila until August 4, 1964 when a law designated June 12 as the country’s Independence Day. #ProudToBePinoy

Wk 15 - Explore the role of Teddy Roosevelt and the Rough Riders during the Spanish-American War.


#OTD December 10, 1898, the Treaty of Paris officially ended the Spanish-American War. Image: Cleveland World, 8/12/1898