Mass one-thousandth that of the Sun but is two and a half times the mass of all the other planets in our Solar System combined. #Jupiter is classified as a gas giant along with Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Together, these four planets are sometimes referred to as the Jovian or outer planets.

pin 437
heart 49

Uranus a beautiful planet indeed--7th planet from the Sun. It has the third-largest planetary radius and fourth-largest planetary mass in the Solar System. Uranus is similar in composition to Neptune...both are different chemical composition than the larger gas giants Jupiter and Saturn. For this reason, astronomers sometimes place them in a separate category called "ice giants"...

pin 642
heart 131

'Planet Nine' May Exist: New Evidence for Another World in Our Solar System. Credit: Karl Tate / © Source: Caltech

pin 152
heart 21

Neptune: This image shows three prominant surface features. The Great Dark Spot at the top, the white cloud in the middle that was nicknamed Scooter and the Small Dark Spot at the bottom. Credit: NASA/Voyager 2 Team

pin 44
heart 4
Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas