Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

The UK, officially known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, makes for an interesting country. Like every other nation, UK too has idiosyncratic patterns in behaviour, language, and culture. Make sure that you strictly adhere to every guideline that has been compiled for a great, blunder-free visit to this stupendous island nation:


GREAT BRITAIN: England, Wales and Scotland. It is ONE island (the eastern one). UNITED KINGDOM: England, Wales, Scotland AND Northern Ireland. IRELAND: a separate country British Isles: all countries in both countries.


Queen Anne (6 February 1665 – 1 August 1714 ascended the thrones of England, Scotland and Ireland on 8 March 1702. On 1 May 1707, under the Act of Union, two of her realms, the kingdoms of England and Scotland, were united as a single sovereign state, the Kingdom of Great Britain.


If you are in London, you are simultaneously in England, Great Britain, the United Kingdom, and the British Isles. Oh, Brits.