Pinterest • The world’s catalogue of ideas

These are the original inhabitants of the area that is now Texas. There are three federally recognized Indian tribes in Texas today: Alabama-Coushatta Tribe, Kickapoo Traditional Tribe, and Ysleta del Sur Pueblo.


A Cherokee woman, undated photo (early 1900s?). Today, the Cherokee Nation is comprised of three separate federally recognized tribes, and is the largest. Originally one of the "Five Civilized Tribes", Cherokee were concentrated in the Southeastern US.


Seminole Couple, 1895. The Seminole are originally from Florida. Today, most Seminole live in Oklahoma; there are three federally recognized tribes and independent groups. The Seminole nation emerged out of groups of Native Americans, most significantly Creek from what are now northern Florida, Georgia, and Alabama, who settled in Florida in the early 18th century. The word Seminole is a corruption of cimarrón, a Spanish term for "runaway" or "wild one."


Ho-Chunk Girl in Hiiwapox Blouse. Photo: ca. 1895. - The Ho-Chunk, also known as Winnebago, are a Siouan-speaking tribe of Native Americans, native to the present-day states of Wisconsin, Minnesota, and parts of Iowa and Illinois. Today the two federally recognized Ho-Chunk tribes, the Ho-Chunk Nation of Wisconsin and Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska, have territory primarily within the states included in their names.


These are the original inhabitants of the area that is now Washington. There are 29 federally recognized Indian tribes in Washington today: Chehalis, Colville Confederated, Cowlitz, Elwha S'Klallam, Hoh, S'Klallam, Kalispel, Lummi, Makah, Muckleshoot, Nisqually, Nooksack, Port Gamble S'Klallam, Puyallup, Quileute, Quinault, Samish, Sauk-Suiattle, Shoalwater Bay Chinookan, Skokomish, Snoqualmie, Spokane, Squaxin Island, Stillaguamish, Suquamish, Swinomish, Tulalip, Upper Skagit, and Yakama.


California Indian Pre-contact Tribal Territories


Caddo man, Bar-Zin-Debar (Tall Man) Photo: March 1898. -- The Caddo Nation is a confederacy of several South-eastern Native American tribes, who traditionally inhabited much of what is now East Texas, northern Louisiana and portions of southern Arkansas and Oklahoma. Today the Caddo Nation of Oklahoma is a single federally recognized tribe with its capital at Binger, Oklahoma. The different Caddo languages have converged into a single language.


These are the original inhabitants of the area that is now Arizona. There are 21 federally recognized Indian tribes in Arizona today: Ak-Chin, Cocopah, Colorado River Tribe, Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation, Fort Mojave Tribe, Fort Yuma-Quechan Tribe, Gila River Tribe, Havasupai, Hopi, Hualapai, Navajo, Kaibab-Paiute, Pascua Yaqui, Salt River Pima-Maricopa, San Carlos Apache, San Juan Southern Paiute, Tohono O'odham Nation, Tonto Apache, White Mountain Apache, Yavapai-Apache, and…


Afro Native Narratives: Tribal Rolls for Federally Recognized Tribes (HD...

Shoshone Warrior Today, the Shoshone are still waiting to become a Federally recognized tribe, along with over 200 other Native American tribes such as the California Chumash and the North-Eastern Abenakis. from;