Each parent is equally responsible for providing for the financial needs of his or her child. But the court cannot enforce this obligation until it makes an order for support. When parents separate, a parent must ask the court to make an order establishing parentage (paternity) and also ask the court to make an order for child support. http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp-support.htm
***THIS IS A MUST READ*** Punishment for a first offense for failure to pay child support is a fine, up to 6 months in prison, or both. In the case of a second or subsequent offense or a case when the obligation has been unpaid for longer than 2 years or is more than $10,000, the punishment increases to a fine of up to $250,000, 2 years in prison, or both. Noncustodial parents convicted of these offenses must also pay restitution and/or settlements of the child support amount owed.
CHILD SUPPORT DIVISION Indiana Department of Child Services Award Most Improved County Child Support Enforcement State of Indiana Child Support Bureau Gratefully Acknowledges The Efforts of Shelby County Most Improvement FFY 2005 to FFY 2006 Presented: June 14, 2007